Tags

, , , , , , ,

9781594744761Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk Publishing

Publication Date: June 7, 2011

Pages: 348

Genre: Young Adult, Horror, Mystery, Fantasy, Paranormal, Historical Fiction

Book Description: “A mysterious island.


 
An abandoned orphanage.


 
A strange collection of very curious photographs.


 
It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. 

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.”  (Barnes and Noble)

Book read for Three Nerds and a Book Club February read.

This book seemed interesting enough – at least the description did. However, when I found it in the teens section at Barnes and Noble, I felt a little sinking feeling in my stomach. As some people know, I am rather…hesitant…to read young adult books. I’m open minded, I will give it a try, but generally, I find it lacking. However, this book seemed to be okay. Riggs wrote beautifully, fluidly, and he kept my attention (which is all that mattered in my opinion).

Like my friend, Scathach, I thought that the beginning was relatively slow. I understand that it was necessary for the story – especially since it was mainly plot driven – however, I felt that the balance between the beginning, the middle, and the end wasn’t right. Everything just seemed thrown in at the end and it all seemed too rushed. Luckily, there will be a sequel to tie up the loose ends.

I have mixed feelings about the book, to be honest. There wasn’t anything wrong per se. It had unexpected elements that I’d never read before, it had good twists/turns, it was well written. I think it was just the balance of the whole story that was off. I suppose it could’ve been a time issue, or a stylistic issue meant for the sequel, but it didn’t sit too well with me. But I enjoyed the book and I sincerely hope the sequel answers more questions, because this one left me really curious.

Overall: ★★★.5

mindblownreaction liesreaction fuzziesreaction

